Something in the water

26 Mar

Last night, there must have been something in the water. I glided through the day, barely remembering that it had started out so oddly.

I was not the only one that awoke disturbed from dreaming. Fish wrote about hers here, stirring up thoughts of recounting my own dream from last night. If Fish and I drank the same water, which we don’t (I think), I would have credited both our sleeping cinemas to that.

I dreamt of my ex, but he was in my current life. I was in my current apartment, but my ex was stuck in the late 90s. He was the same as he was then. Just as skinny as in high school, decked out in too-baggy Nautica Jeans and Polo shirts. They hung on him just like they did then. And his hair was short and conjured visions of the eleventh grade. I am glad I dream of him then, because that was the him I fell in love with.

In a weird way, I think I will give myself credit for remembering him at his best.

Looking back with fondness and warm, nostalgic feelings must be a sign of moving on. Points for me (and for the high school version of him).

Leave a Reply

