Shameful heart

27 Apr

I have never seen my dad heartbroken, until now.

My dad divorced my mom and he didn’t seemed phased. This woman, however, is putting him through the blender and she is holding down the pulp button with her little finger and looking the other way.

My grandma was talking about how he dated her for 9 years, and there were mountains of issues looming in the distance, but he married her anyway. He had hope and he believed in her.

My cute oaf-y dad looked at his feet. I hope he was okay. He seemed ashamed to be called out in front of me. My teddy bear dad, that used to buy me candy bars on bike rides, looked so deflated. All 215 pounds of him just looked at the floor, questioning where he went wrong. I think he married her partly out of love, and partly out of necessity. Regardless, I wish I could have taken the pain away.

Maybe, I could be a heart fairy. He puts his bruised and broken one under his pillow, and I will replace it with a new, happy one.

2 Responses to “Shameful heart”

  1. rebecca April 28, 2008 at 6:11 pm #

    heart fairy, i love that (and i want one too…)

  2. busypretending April 29, 2008 at 6:28 am #

    New, happy hearts all around!

Leave a Reply

