who called it

4 May

One caramel colored dress and about 4 hours of flirting later, I was giving in. And I was loving every second of it.

It started out innocently enough, with a quick hello and an even quicker hug. I met your friends and we laughed and joked. No one objected when Ryan noted, “The sexual tension between you two is materializing. I think I can actually see it.” So we laughed it off as being one of many inappropriate comments to come, and knew in our hearts that we had been waiting for this.

No matter what you call it, an excuse or perfect timing, we weren’t going to deny the inevitable. So I called you “My mistake” and you apologized for leaving. We kissed in the car on the way over, feeling relieved because earlier in the night, with every snippet of conversation that passed, we were trying to not break down and make out in the middle of the reception hall.

Then we partied with your friends, and I called you names. And hands were flying, from the nape of my neck, to the small of my back, and we wasted away the night pretending touch would make our past go away.

Somewhere along the way, the night had crashed in around us. My caramel colored dress lay crumpled in a heap on your hotel room floor and we both left knowing that this wasn’t going to end well.

3 Responses to “who called it”

  1. voiceinmyhead May 5, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    sometimes you give in, because the high you get from being with him is the best you’ve felt in SO long…but this time you’re prepared for the crash back to earth that will come in about 2 days. i listened to this song on repeat for about 2 months. this is from maroon 5, nothing lasts forever-
    “A bed that’s warm with memories
    Can heal us temporarily
    The misbehaving only makes
    The ditch between us so damn deep”

  2. busypretending May 5, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    In the iTunes… NOW. Love it. Love your support.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. like last time. « I’m busy pretending to not look for you - October 22, 2009

    […] 22, 2009 The last time I chatted with an ex, I eventually slept with him and that was the end of that. That was the […]

Leave a Reply

