besties*

22 May

Purge part 2:

My roommate’s best friend came to stay with us last week. It was perfect- just like all occasions are with best friends. They painted each other’s toe nails and shopped. They drank wine and discussed relationships, parents and jobs. I excused myself when the conversation got too personal and let them have their moments.

As a result, I couldn’t wait to have mine with my best friend. So I met my her in San Francisco and we reveled in the fact that we were reunited. We ran in the Bay to Breakers race dressed as Flintstones, and drank 2 bottles of wine over a baguette and cheese in the Ferry Plaza. We caught up on past episodes of Grey’s and dissected my love life over another bottle of wine later in the weekend. We talked pregnancy, Brazilian waxes and marriage with a former roommate from college and her brand new boyfriend (yes, I think we officially scarred him for life). We skipped to Loehmann’s slightly buzzed in search of discounted designer jeans and cocktail dresses. We squeezed every girlie moment out of the weekend.

I miss her, but somehow we stay connected. We get the stresses in each other’s lives and we flawlessly pick up right where we left off.

Monday morning, I returned to SD rejuvenated.

And then my car died in the parking lot of a Taco Bell (don’t ask what I was doing there), and a bunch of crack addicits walking around suburbia in bikinis helped me jump start my car. All that was accomplished Monday was unsuccessfully channeling the feeling I had at the wine bar, sitting across from my her, toasting to friendship.

*”besties” kind of makes me gag, so I thought it appropriate.

5 Responses to “besties*”

  1. raych May 22, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    i love those kinds of friends … friends that don’t take it personal that you haven’t seen each other in a while … just enjoy those times when you do

  2. alexa May 22, 2008 at 5:42 pm #

    i love besties. im lucky to have a few of them and all i know is i don’t know what i’d do without them.

    now im all excited for my dinner plans tomorrow with 3 of them. bring on the vino.

  3. Jamie May 22, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Sounds like a fantastic weekend!

  4. WeightingGame May 23, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    that sounds like so much fun! Especially the buzzed shopping excursion! I have a few friends who live far away but when we get together it is magical, like we never left. PS My car died in a Meijers parking lot two weeks ago but it was in the Chicago suburbs and there were no bikini-clad crack addicts to help. Triple A came – a big, burly man in overalls. Your jumpstart sounds waaay more interesting!

  5. busypretending May 23, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    raych- I do think that kind of relationship is earned though. I have had friends where we apparently had that kind o’ friendship, and when it came down to it, it was more the be my friend when I need you type. ugh.

    alexa- oh dinner plans! Can I come? That sure beats my mac & cheese.

    Jamie- It was! Take me there again

Leave a Reply

