I don’t care if I never get back

6 Jun

I went on a date with Bear. It started out with me worrying that were were going to have to cancel our plans because of a little rain. In case you didn’t know, San Diegans flip out when it as much mists. So while I was freaking out over some rain and ever-changing outfit possibilities, Bear calls and smoothly says, “I still think we should head downtown anyway, lets see whats up.” Excited he wasn’t giving up on me, I made fun of his (lack of) karma, and decided on a pair of jeans.

A friend of mine scored tickets for me that evening, and so Bear and I headed away from the ballpark, through traffic, to get the seats. Fortunately, they were great seats and he was even more excited. Yay! I impressed the sportswriter with my hookups.

I made fun of his use of big words (not gonna lie, totally turns me on) at a bar where we grabbed drinks before the game. Then we oogled at our amazing seats and loved that the Padres were going to beat the Cubs. He talked baseball and school, and roommates and I told him how I hated “Take me out to the ballgame.” We then proceeded to belt it LOUDLY with arms slung around eachother. Pretty sure I don’t hate it as much anymore.

The game ended quicker than we both expected, and we both commented on how the night was moving so much faster than we wanted. He made sure I didn’t have a bedtime and asked if we could grab a drink on a rooftop bar across the street.

So we cuddled on a ledge overlooking the ballpark, sipped a greyhound or two, and laughed about families, Rilo Kiley, and me being young.

Later, a group of sportswriters joined us and mostly talked shop, but I hung in the conversation and had a great time.

The bar kicked us out soon after last call, and we headed home, kissed in front of my apartment, and said goodnight.

I probably shouldn’t have had the last two drinks, because I have a feeling they went into affect about an hour before I had to be at work. So I woke up via miracle, and headed to work with a buzz (both boy and liquor-induced).

I would do it again in a second and I am hanging onto my non-stop smile.

3 Responses to “I don’t care if I never get back”

  1. sanya June 6, 2008 at 8:41 pm #

    i’m so happy for you! that sounds like a great date, sigh.

  2. freeandflawed June 7, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    Yay! I’m glad it went well 🙂

  3. voiceinmyhead June 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm #

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
    love, LOVE, love it “So I woke up via miracle, and headed to work with a buzz (both boy and liquor-induced).”

Leave a Reply

