hedging the bets

11 Jun

I am not much of a gambler- thankfully. In short, I over-reacted (and by over-reacting I mean I was taking bets for reasons as to why Bear hadn’t called yet).

By late Tuesday morning, participants included:

Kay: she still had hope, exact words were “It is too early to tell”

Bails: He is a drug dealer in SD and finally got arrested. He is in jail.

Me: Novelty wore off. Of course.

Roomie: Uh. Don’t hold your breath.

So I threw myself an early birthday party, because my actual one is being forgotten due to Father’s Day. Everyone in attendance was aware of my near-fatal phone letdown, and I was happy to have a distraction.

My distraction arrived in the middle of dinner, in the form of a phone call from Bear, which resulted in cheers from all party guests.

There was fist-pumping, until Kay mentioned that he could in fact be in the bar, watching my reaction, and quickly be heading for door.

Now, we can’t have that.

2 Responses to “hedging the bets”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rally for Randomness « I’m busy pretending to not look for you - June 23, 2008

    […] in to see how I was doing and offered their own reasoning and advice. Bails, who you will remember voted drug dealer, changed her hypothesis to deadbeat dad with bastard children in Montana. Kelly followed it up with […]

  2. Lightning Strikes Twice « I’m busy pretending to not look for you - June 27, 2008

    […] texted me last night while I was at the Tap Room (the same bar this […]

Leave a Reply

