Have I told you about the accordion player?

23 Jul

Oh, not yet? Well, let me begin.

I went to a bar with Chewy and Liliana, my American friends I met while studying abroad in Italy.

We went to Longboards for happy hour, and passed the time with fabulous stories about the Peroni we used to drink and the adventures we shared together. There were trips to cheese factories and wineries, Italian bars and Italian operas. In that trip a lot of us found ourselves, and we needed eachother to do so. At the bar, we caught up on life, took drunken pictures and before we knew it, a bunch of random acts begin to take the stage.

In the beginning most were solo gutair mavens (whom I would have made out with in a second) playing standard covers of songs everyone loves to hear. Then there were some reggae bands. Amidst the crowd was a younger man wearing an accoridian as a backpack.

Pictures were taken. If I had them, you would see them.

So we posed endlessly with the accordion, while its owner was facing the bar. The aforementioned guitar mavens busted out into Pepper’s Dirty Hot Sex. So I started singing along and and before I knew it accordion man was asking me if I liked Pepper. We discovered we went to the same university, and chatted many times thoughout the night.

He hung around, would pop in and out of the conversation at our table, but made no attempt to ask for my number. He mentioned that he was supposed to go on sometime around 12 AM and I wished him luck. Then, as the bar started to thin out, he was called to the stage.

I was nervous as my friends had left and I was basically waiting to see where this was going (cleverly disguised as talking to a former coworker). So he started to play mostly hip hop, some reggae, all on the accordian.

Now, now, wipe that impressed look off your face. It’s an accordian.

And HE SUCKED AT IT. I would say that on a scale of one to ten his performance was at about an 2.3.

I would like to think I made him nervous, etc, but, come on people, this guy was American Idol try-outs bad.

The bar was beginning to empty and I just had to leave.

So I did. But I had to do so while he was super into his music, eyes closed singing. I stealthily left my table right in front of the stage, walked around the crowded bar and out the door.

And the accordion man was no more.

5 Responses to “Have I told you about the accordion player?”

  1. sanya July 23, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    ahahahah awww, poor little accordion man.

  2. Julie July 23, 2008 at 9:53 am #

    at least it wasn’t bagpipes? ? ?

    yeah, i got nothing. how are you feeling? 😉

  3. Annette July 23, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    hahahahahah

    Hilarious, just hilarious.

  4. voiceinmyhead July 24, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    sometimes you’re better off just imagining….boys are just so damn dissapointing sometimes.
    **sigh**

  5. busypretending August 9, 2008 at 2:08 am #

    sanya- practice makes perfect. I don’t feel bad.

    Julie- I think bagpipes would have been better, at least helped the story out a little.

    Annette- Thankfully, now, we can all enjoy the humor.

    voice- but sometimes you get a damn good story out of ’em

Leave a Reply

