Juxtaposed

7 Oct

Two friend outings this weekend could not have been more different.

The first featured my two best friends, one’s (practically married) bf, and Amy- whom I adore.

We went out to dinner for a friend’s birthday party and it could not have been more blah. We were at a hip pizza and beer joint, we looked great, and we were blah. I can’t bring enough fabulous for everyone (kidding).

Dinner started at 8, and I was home watching Private Practice on my computer by 10:30- and I live a half-hour away!

Where did all our mojo go?  The level of fun could easily have been upped, but the gatherings with that group are so forced. It is almost to say “I guess we are best friends, we should probably go to dinner,” except that no one is really there to be with the other people. And dinner-Well, we do dinner because we wouldn’t know what else to do.

With them, I feel like I am holding onto the past. It feels like none of us are really there, but rather the shells of our former self, yet we rely on those shells to connect us. And we go, because some of us need the friends more than others.

What group of 5 23-year-olds go out on a Friday and are back home before the news? Not I, said the fly.

Contrast that to the birthday party I went to on Saturday night: 30 year olds, some babies, mostly married, and I definitely had a blast. I didn’t even know most of the people there, and I hardly drank. We rocked out to Rock Band (I can’t drum worth shit!), watched some Ultimate Fighting (major blood spewage- gross!) on cable, and simply hung out.

It was so much fun, in fact, that I woke up the next morning and went to brunch with a bunch of people I had met the night before.

It was just so easy that it made friendship seem a little less like work, and a lot more like fun.

2 Responses to “Juxtaposed”

  1. NurseM October 8, 2008 at 5:51 am #

    I know what you mean! After attending high school and two universities, I’ve now got several separate groups of friends…. one of the longest-standing groups meets about once a year for dinner, and the last time I felt was incredibly awkward and boring, and I can’t imagine doing it again. It’s a strange realization that you can outgrow friendships, isn’t it? 😦
    (But those fun new ones sooo make up for it!) 🙂

  2. busypretending October 18, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    I never knew you could outgrow friendships. I mean- I have had ones where we grew apart and saw each other less, but never wanted to hang out with people and we just didn’t have anything in common.

Leave a Reply

