A fire inside

27 Oct

My roomie opened up to me tonight. After 8 months of living together, she finally told me why her parents didn’t like her bf, and she finally hinted at the fact that she may in fact be over him.

She came alive a few weekends ago after we went out one night. He was out of town. The contrast was like night and day.

She is not oppressed or controlled, but simply bored with the relationship, bored with him.

In the past two weeks alone, she has been more alive and more outgoing than I have ever seen her.

I am really proud of her- Proud to see her step up to her own expectations.

I know she is fighting an inner battle that she struggles with daily, but I know that she sees in herself what her family sees. She sees who she can be without compromise.

She will find the courage and strength to power through, and I look forward to watching the light that comes from within guide her on her way.

One Response to “A fire inside”

  1. Miss Tiff October 28, 2008 at 4:41 am #

    That’s a tough battle that she’s fighting. Trust me I know. I went through the same thing when I broke up with my most recent EX. It can be hard but it seems like she’s making some steps which is a good sign. She’ll need plenty of hugs though. Trust me on that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

