I have a question.

9 Nov

It goes something like this.

I want to date someone that is a smidge more exciting than me. Someone who will take the plunge, the leap or the fall.

Someone who will jump when you least expect it.

I want to date someone that makes me a little more normal, a little less all over the place, and a lot more inspired.

But if I want to date someone more exciting than me, doesn’t everyone?

No one wants to date boring, uninteresting and standard, but doesn’t someone end up being that by default?

So if everyone is out there looking for someone a smidge more exciting than themselves, than what will the most interesting people do? They will have no one to be their fire, their excitement.

Or do the most interesting people, in fact, look for someone to tame them. They have all the excitement they need and in pursuit of balance, they choose mellow, less ferocious?

I had tame, mellow, sensible and rational. Not a speck of crazy in Him. I was bored, unfulfilled. So when I meet new people who are a little less than thrilling, I automatically wonder… Am I choosing the same thing all over again?

2 Responses to “I have a question.”

  1. Julie November 10, 2008 at 6:30 am #

    If there’s no crazy in the other person, I can’t get on board. I totally feel you.

    I think the moral to this post: We’re all fucked.

  2. LiLu November 10, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    I’m the crazy adventurous type… and always looked for the same, until I met the right one. He balances me out, reigns me in when I go a little crazy… but I still drag him along for the ride. Don’t give up hope šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

