Social Media and Angel in a Tundra

10 Apr

I was getting on the freeway today. Hit a wet spot and let my car drive itself up the embankment to my right. With my right back tire in the air, and my car teetering towards the driver’s side, I carefully climbed out, taking my phone with me, and cried my way through the AAA prompts in order to get a tow truck.

All this, while canceling lunch with my mother (she forgot) and cursing my Dad for not answering his phone when I needed him. Looking at my truck, I knew it didn’t need a tow. My dad could fix this with his bare hands.

But there I was. A girl, crying on the side of the freeway. Helpless- and scared my car would tip over if I tried anything stupid.

Then my angel arrived- and by angel I mean a sweaty, attractive, thirty-ish year old man in a Toyota Tundra. He came armed, with out wings, but with a tow rope.

So I climbed in my car, turned the wheel as instructed (WHERE DO BOYS LEARN THESE THINGS?) and he backed me out of my teetering hell. I hugged him goodbye just as the AAA tow truck showed up, hugged him too, and drove off.

I am currently looking for someone who needs a good Samaritan. I am available, willing, and have a debt to pay.

I am off to a social media conference tomorrow. 100 buckaroonies and I will be networking with people in the industry whom I truly admire. Wish me luck. What to wear? What to wear? and I have NO business cards left. LAME.

3 Responses to “Social Media and Angel in a Tundra”

  1. Tundra Headquarters April 11, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    Being cool, helpful, attractive, and sweaty are all pre-requisites for owning a Tundra (section 5 of the manual). Boys learn this stuff because every once in a while, when the time is right, it impresses the hell out of some woman. Good luck at the conference.

    • busypretending April 11, 2009 at 9:44 am #

      This made me laugh so hard! I should have known as soon as the truck pulled up. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Tundra Headquarters April 11, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    LOL! Glad to hear it.

Leave a Reply

