Just thought you should know. (part 6)

1 Dec

Refuses had these stupid post its. These exact ones, in fact.

I found them on his desk in the first few weeks we were dating. They were shuffled below papers and schoolwork, and seemed like a safe enough place to leave a note. So I did. Amidst late night beers and movies, and casual sex on school nights, I wrote “I kinda like you. ” and I signed it with a heart and my name. Nothing of the note was ever mentioned.

Months later, Refuses graduated from college and as we both landed great new jobs, I wrote “I am so proud of you” and signed it with a heart and my name. Each time I went to write a new note, the previous note was gone.

Finally, the two nights before he moved to LA,  I wrote a post it that read: Just thought you should know “the best part was loving you” and signed it with a heart and my name.

It was true. I loved him, and this was my way of telling him before he left.

One Response to “Just thought you should know. (part 6)”

  1. Kristin December 2, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    I read your story and it feels like my break up all over again. Moving on is hard and it sucks. Here’s to a brighter future.

Leave a Reply

