Do you have my heart in there? (part 7)

3 Dec

Refuses sat at my counter in the kitchen, and I sat on a stool next to him. We both grabbed beers as soon as we walked in, honestly, because we both knew it wasn’t going to get any more awkward than this.

He said that after Tuesday night, when we talked, he went home and thought about us. He pulled down a shoebox from his closet and found these. He opened his suit jacket, and pulled out his wallet, and pulled out my three post it notes.

And I lost it.

He set them on the counter one by one and said that I made him a better man, and that these post its were the reason we are so good for each other. He said he didn’t know it at the time, but that he loved me, and he wanted to be with me. He wanted to make this work, that though he didn’t know how, he knew that we could make this work.

He said that he didn’t know if I ever wanted to talk to him again after Tuesday night, but he knew after I texted him Wednesday morning that we had to give it a shot.

We drank beers and broke onto the roof of my downtown apartment building. We rehashed out every part of our first relationship, and had all of the conversations we were too scared to have.

He loved me, and though I knew it all along, I really needed him to want my love in order to let my guard down.

5 Responses to “Do you have my heart in there? (part 7)”

  1. IntrigueMe December 3, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh yay, finally something happy in this story- hell I was starting to get depressed. I hope it gets better from here and not worse!

  2. busypretending December 3, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    LOL. I am just a drama queen. Get used to it, cuz it is always something.

  3. IntrigueMe December 4, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    Well… if it works out or not, at least he said he loves you! Now if it doesn’t work out, the jerk can suffer!! And if it does… well yay. LOL… I look forward to reading regardless 🙂

  4. Kristin December 4, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Here’s to a great new start. Keep the faith.

  5. sanya December 4, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    i second that yay!

Leave a Reply

