years of misfortune, and a hint of opportunity

29 Mar

hey there,

Drum Roll please? (I would do it myself but I have no rhythm ((which is not good for giving BJs, or so I have been told))

I got the job! I will be teaching little kids how to swim this summer. While I won’t be making a ton o’ money, or working a ton o’ hours, it should help out just enough to ease some of the financial strain I have been harboring these last couple months.

But it was/is/forever will be in the name of paying off my debt, and I have already paid off $1,575.00 buckaroonies since January. Strain for gain, people, strain for gain.

And while I gained a little part-time gig on the side, my dad lost his big paying job that supports the whole family, two houses and helping my other sister finish college to layoffs and this shitty economy. And frankly, people, I am not taking it that well.

After months (years?) of hearing about the tanking economy, getting my dream job in the middle of it, and thanking god that it hadn’t really touched me or my family, here we are, smothered in second jobs and layoffs.

My dad deserves better, and has a strong-enough network that he should be back on his feet in no time, but I am sad for him. He was doing so well, for us and his wife, and he seemed to be pretty content with his life.

He takes care of so many people (myself included), that I just want the best opportunity possible to come from this. To explode out of the shit hole that is this economy and sweep him off his feet. I wish for him, a happy prosperous future, full of love and work and all-together happy.

One Response to “years of misfortune, and a hint of opportunity”

  1. IntrigueMe March 30, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Congrats on the new job!! Woot woot!!

    Don’t worry about your Dad, he’ll find something in no time, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

