hornier than thou

5 May

Lately, I find myself thinking about what it means to be a woman, a good amount of the time.

And here’s why:

I am hornier than my boyfriend. and it’s not the first bf I’ve had a “bigger appetite” than. (Fortunately, he is very accommodating.)

I need a raise and am too scared to ask. So I keep running tapes of “Women get paid 74 cents for every one dollar a man works” and “Men get paid 25% more than women for doing the same job” over and over in my head telling myself that I don’t want to be another statistic.

I, officially, now, one day a week, dread putting on make-up and “getting ready”. But after being so gross at swim all day Saturday, the last thing I want to do is come home to curl my hair.

I know these are all based in stereotypes, but my own thinking about them makes them valid, at least in my head.

Is there anything on your radar lately that makes you feel more or less, like a lady?

2 Responses to “hornier than thou”

  1. IntrigueMe May 7, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    I am lucky to work in a building where *most* of the men are gentlemen, they always let the ladies enter and exit the elevator first… and they hold doors open for women. It’s a small thing, but always impresses me and makes me feel kinda classy, a little old fashioned, which I am… it’s nice to see chivalry still exists in some sense.

    Also- I feel very much like a woman when a man checks me out. This morning a guy nodded and smiled at me in the coffee shop. At the swimming pool the other day, some schmuck actually did the little eyebrow dance in my direction. Whether they’re my type or not- that always makes me feel like “I’m a girl and boys check me out. tee hee.” (and that thought alone is a girly thought!)

  2. busypretending May 11, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    At our office, I actually find it kinda hilarious how persistent the guys are to make sure the women get off the elevator first. It is amazing how amplified that “courtesy” is when you see it everyday, and guys that you didn’t think would abide by it go out of their way to follow it.

    And being checked out? I agree it can make you feel good in the right context. Other times it can make you want to drive to the nearest police station to file a report and take a shower- Creepers!

Leave a Reply

